Kentucky Derby 2024 Horses: Full List Of Competitors


In the history of the Kentucky Derby, only three jockeys have won the title four or more times. But it’s possible another rider will join that group on Saturday when the 150th running of the illustrious race will occur at Churchill Downs in Louisville. 

John Velazquez, a three-time Derby champion, will look to ride betting favourite Fierceness (5-2) to victory. Velazquez hasn’t won this race since 2020 (Authentic), but he could end his small drought in his 26th Kentucky Derby appearance. 

Or maybe one of the other 19 Jockeys will take their horse to the winner’s circle instead. There are plenty of colts in this year’s field who are legitimate contenders to capture the Derby crown. 

Here, take a look at the full lineup of the competitors of Kentucky Derby 2024.

  1. Dornoch (20-1)

Trainer: Danny Gargan

Jockey: Luis Saez

  1. Mystik Dan (20-10)

Trainer: Kenneth McPeek

Jockey: Brian Hernandez Jr.

  1. Catching Freedom (8-1)

Trainer: Brad Cox

Jockey: Flavien Prat

  1. Sierra Leone (3-1)

Trainer: Chad Brown

Jockey: Tyler Gaffalone

  1. Catalytic (30-1)

Trainer: Saffie Joseph Jr. 

Jockey: Jose Ortiz

  1. Honor Marie (20-1)

Trainer: D. Whitworth Beckman

Jockey: Ben Curtis

  1. Just Steel (20-10)

Trainer: D. Wayne Lukas

Jockey: Keith Asmussen

  1. Just A Touch (10-1)

Trainer: Brad Cox

Jockey: Florent Geroux

  1. T O Password (30-1)

Trainer: Daisuke Takyanagi 

Jockey: Kazushi Kimura

  1. Forever Young (10-1)

Trainer: Yoshito Yahagi

Jockey: Ryusei Sakai

  1. West Saratoga (50-1)

Trainer: Larry Demeritte

Jockey: Jesus Castanon

  1. Tack Phantom (20-1)

Trainer: Steve Asmussen

Jockey: Joel Rosario

  1. Domestic Product (30-1)

Trainer: Chad Brown

Jockey: Irad Oritz Jr.

  1. Endlessly (30-1)

Trainer: Michael McCarthy

Jockey: Umberto Rispoli

  1. Fierceness (5-2)

Trainer: Todd Pletcher

Jockey: John Velazquez

  1. Grand Mo the First (50-1)

Trainer: Victor Barboza Jr. 

Jockey: Emisael Jaramillo

  1. Resilience (20-1)

Trainer: Bill Mott

Jockey: Junior Alvarado

  1. Stronghold (20-1)

Trainer: Philip D’Amato

Jockey: Antonio Fresu

  1. Epic Ride (50-1)

Trainer: John Ennis

Jockey: Adam Beschizza

  1. Society Man (50-1)

Trainer: Danny Gargan

Jockey: Frankie Dettori

Comment via Facebook

Corrections: If you are aware of an inaccuracy or would like to report a correction, we would like to know about it. Please consider sending an email to [email protected] and cite any sources if available. Thank you. (Policy)

Comments are closed.